Standards for Accessible Design

ADA Accessibility Guidelines

U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ)

The ADA Accessibility Guidelines (ADAAG) include stringent criteria for health care Providers as well as additional requirements based on building use (special application 6 – Medical Care Facilities). The Standards for Accessible Design apply to the architecture and construction of new buildings/facilities as well as alterations to existing structures.

Download the Standards

Standards - PDF 

Standards - HTM

Download Special Application 6 (Health Care Facilities)

ADAAG for Medical Care Facilities - PDF (see pg 60) 

ADAAG for Medical Care Facilities - HTM